Announcing the 2021 ACVSMR Abstract Award Winners

The ACVSMR Continuing Education Committee selected the following abstracts from a strong group of submissions through a blinded review process.  These six abstracts will be presented Friday October 8, 2021 in Chicago, IL at the ACVSMR Annual Meeting held at the ACVS Surgical Summit.  Congratulations to the 2021 ACVSMR Abstract Award Winners and thank you to all those who submitted this year.  It is through all of their efforts that we will continue to advance the field of sports medicine and rehabilitation.

Click here to read their short abstracts.

Canine – 1st Place
Ah young Kim DVM, MS, Resident ACVSMR –  Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine
Evaluation of Transduction Efficiency of Self-complementary Adeno-associated Virus Vector Serotypes in Canine Joint Cell Culture: Development of a New Strategy for the Treatment of Canine Osteoarthritis

Canine – 2nd Place
Leilani Alvarez DVM, DACVSMR – Animal Medical Center, New York, NY
Systematic Review of Postoperative Rehabilitation Interventions after Cranial Cruciate Ligament Repair

Canine – 3rd Place
Jordan Sedlacek DVM, MPH, Resident ACVSMR
– Fort Collins Veterinary Emergency and Rehabilitation Hospital, Fort Collins, CO
Nonsurgical Rehabilitation in Dachshunds with T3-L3 Myelopathy: Prognosis and Rates of Recurrence

Equine – 1st Place
Emma Santosuosso DVM – University of Calgary
Underwater kinematic analysis of the fore- and hindlimbs during straight line free swimming in horses

Equine – 2nd Place
Carrie Jacobs DVM, DACVS-LA, Resident ACVSMR – North Carolina State University College of Veterinary Medicine
Efficacy of a commercial dry sleeve cryotherapy system for cooling the equine metacarpus

Equine – 3rd Place
Tena Ursini DVM, DACVSMR
– University of Tennessee College of Veterinary Medicine
Multifidus muscle activation in response to therapeutic exercises in horses